Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium
Welcome Catalogue Historic Tarots gallery Contact & informations Boutique

• Catalogue of Tarot decks

• TAROT OF MARSEILLE MINI-MILLENNIUM EDITION

The 78 Arcana ~ Deluxe traveler’s edition ~ by Wilfried Houdouin, Marseille 2020

10 years after the publication of the first edition of the 22 Major Arcana, and four years after the publication of the first edition including the 78 Arcana, here is a new version printed in pure spot colors and gilded on edges, format 44 x 85 mm.

78 cards + 2 cards of presentation (French and English)
Sliding rigid case • Retail price : 25 €

Tarot of Marseille Mini-Millennium Edition 2020

Precisely 20 years after the start of the regeneration work of the Marseille Tarot undertaken by the author, a work following his rediscovery of the Sacred Geometry Matrix of this Philosopher’s playing card deck, the Tarot of Marseille Millennium Edition has reached maturity. This new edition benefits from a new production, which will first be available in a Deluxe traveler size version (44 x 85 mm) in summer 2021. This edition will be followed by another of standard format (64 x 123 mm) in 2022. Besides the improvements of the Arcana’s iconography, this new edition is revolutionary as it is the first modern edition of the Marseille Tarot to be printed in pure spot colors, as were the traditional Tarot decks at the time when they were still colored directly with ink and stencil, a tradition which ended during the 19th century with the implementation of the industrial mass printing process, first with a diminished set of colors (due to the limitations of the printing machines of the time), then with the “off-set” four-color printing technique (see below).

Until now, all the editions of Marseille Tarots were printed, just like most of the modern productions, by using the common four-color printing process, which is based on the four primary pigment colors : cyan, magenta, yellow, and black, the image reproduction being performed by printing more or less tiny dots of those colors (depending on the final format, such as book or poster), the mix of them producing, as seen from a distance, the illusion of uniformity of hues and shades of colors. This is very noticeable on a subway poster seen up close, for example. The alternative (besides serigraphs which is an artisanal printing technique), which is rarely used, and only possible for distinct and uniform surfaces, is more complex and costly to set up. It relies on pure direct “spot colors” print (Pantone® or Matchprint® inks), each color being a pre-mixed color ink fully covering the surface concerned. The result is a print with vivid colors, whereas the usual four-color process the usual process produces a duller luminosity, the light spectrum of colors being more limited.

As a matter of fact, this technique was once used for the production of the famous “Ancient Marseille Tarot ” from Paul Marteau (1930) published by B.P. Grimaud, but only until the early 1990s, and with only 6 colors instead of 9 (black included). Since then, this deck is printed in four-color, which is a more economical printing process. To mark the advent of this revolutionary new publication of the Tarot of Marseille Millennium Edition, which opens a new era for the Marseille Tarot, in addition to benefiting from magnificent colors the cards are gilded on edge.

The pictures below show the difference between the four-color (on the left),
and “spot colors” (on the right) printing process, as seen beyond the vision of the naked eye :

Tarot of Marseille Millennium Edition 2017-2020 . Quadrichromy vs Spot colors

Below is the comparison of the small (44 x 85 mm) and standard card format (64 x 123 mm) :

Tarot of Marseille Millennium Edition 2017-2020

Tarot deck available on sale in the Boutique

DOS « TAROTÉ » . Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 XXI LE MONDE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 XX LE IVGEMENT • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 XVIIII LE SOLEIL • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 XVIII LA LVNE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 XVII LESTOILLE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 XVI LA MAISON DIEV • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 XV LE DIABLE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017
LE MAT • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 XIIII TENPERANCE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 Arcane XIII • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 XII LE PENDV • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 XI LA FORCE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 X LA ROVE DE FORTVNE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 VIIII LERMITE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 VIII IVSTICE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017
DOS « TAROTÉ » . Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 VII LE CHARIOR • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 VI LAMOVREVX • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 V LE PAPE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 IIII LEMPEREVR • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 III LIMPERATRISE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 II LA PAPESSE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 I LE BATELEVR • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017
ROY DE DENIER • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 IIII DESPEE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 VALET DE BASTON • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017  X DE DENIER • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 CAVALLIER DE COVPE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 III de BASTON • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 REYNE DESPEE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017 VIII DE COVPE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017

Click the images to magnify them

Video realized by Mim Mim

• To discover more about the Tarot of Marseille Millennium Edition, visit the official website

 
  facebook

• Tarot of Marseille Heritage © 2013-2021 • Marseille •
Welcome | Catalogue of the decks | Historic Tarots gallery | Who are we ?
Frequently asked questions | Testimonies | Newsletter | Contact | Links | Boutique

facebook twitter

Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium
Acceuil Catalogue Tarots historiques Contact & informations Boutique

• Catalogue des jeux •

• TAROT DE MARSEILLE EDITION MINI-MILLENNIUM •

Les 78 Arcanes ~ Édition Deluxe format voyageur ~ par Wilfried Houdouin, Marseille 2020

10 ans après la publication de la première édition des 22 Arcanes Majeurs, et quatre ans après la publication de la première édition des 78 Arcanes, voici la nouvelle version imprimée en tons directs purs et dorée sur tranche, format 44 x 85 mm.

78 cartes + 2 cartes de présentation (français et anglais)
Boitier rigide coulissant • Prix public : 25 €

Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium, 2020

Précisément 20 ans après le début du travail de régénération du Tarot de Marseille entrepris par l’auteur, ouvrage faisant suite à sa redécouverte de la Matrice de Géométrie Sacrée de ce jeu de cartes à jouer Philosophal, le Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium est arrivé à maturité. Cette nouvelle édition bénéficie d’une nouvelle production qui sera en premier lieu disponible en version Deluxe taille voyageur (44 x 85 mm) en été 2021. Cette édition sera suivie d’une autre au format standard (64 x 123 mm) en 2022. Outre les améliorations de l’iconographie des Arcanes, cette nouvelle édition est révolutionnaire, car il s’agit de la première édition moderne du Tarot de Marseille à être imprimée en tons directs purs, comme l’étaient les jeux de Tarot traditionnels à l’époque où ils étaient encore colorés directement à l’encre et au pochoir, une tradition qui a pris fin au XIXe siècle avec la mise en œuvre du processus d’impression de masse industrielle, d’abord avec un jeu de couleurs réduit (en raison des limites des imprimantes de l’époque), puis avec la technique d’impression en quadrichromie «offset» (voir ci-dessous).

Jusqu’à présent, toutes les éditions des Tarots de Marseille étaient imprimées, comme la plupart des productions modernes, en utilisant le procédé d’impression quadrichromique commun, basé sur les quatre couleurs primaires de pigments : cyan, magenta, jaune et noir, la reproduction d’images étant effectuée par impression de plus ou moins petits points de ces couleurs (en fonction du format final, tel qu'un livre ou une affiche), leur mélange produisant, vu de loin, l’illusion d’uniformité des teintes et des nuances de couleurs. Ceci est très visible sur une affiche de métro vue de près, par exemple. L’alternative (outre la sérigraphie qui est une technique d’impression artisanale), rarement utilisée et uniquement possible pour des surfaces distinctes et uniformes, est plus complexe et coûteuse à mettre en place. Elle repose sur une impression en «tons directs» (encres Pantone® ou Matchprint®), chaque couleur étant une encre de couleur pré-mélangée couvrant entièrement la surface concernée. Le résultat est une impression avec des couleurs vives, alors que le processus habituel d'impression en quadrichromie produit une luminosité plus terne, le spectre lumineux de couleurs étant plus limité.

En fait, cette technique fut un temps utilisée pour la production du célèbre «Ancien Tarot de Marseille » de Paul Marteau (1930) publié chez B.P. Grimaud, mais seulement jusqu’au début des années 1990, et avec seulement 6 couleurs au lieu de 9 (noir inclus). Depuis, ce jeu est imprimé en quadrichromie, qui est un processus d’impression plus économique. Pour marquer l'avènement de cette nouvelle publication révolutionnaire du Tarot de Marseille Millenium Edition, qui ouvre une nouvelle ère pour le Tarot de Marseille, en plus de bénéficier de magnifiques couleurs les cartes sont dorées sur tranche.

Les images ci-dessous montrent la différence entre le procédé d’impression
quadrichromique (à gauche) et celui par tons directs (à droite), vu au-delà de la vision à l’œil nu :

Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017-2020 . Quadrichromie vs Tons directs

Ci-dessous la comparaison du petit (44 x 85 mm) et du grand format de carte (64 x 123 mm) :

Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium 2017-2020

Jeu disponible à la vente dans la Boutique

DOS « TAROTÉ » . Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium, 2020 XXI LE MONDE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 XX LE IVGEMENT • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 XVIIII LE SOLEIL • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 XVIII LA LVNE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 XVII LESTOILLE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 XVI LA MAISON DIEV • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 XV LE DIABLE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020
LE MAT • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 XIIII TENPERANCE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 Arcane XIII • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 XII LE PENDV • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 XI LA FORCE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 X LA ROVE DE FORTVNE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 VIIII LERMITE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 VIII IVSTICE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020
DOS « TAROTÉ » . Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium, 2020 VII LE CHARIOR • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 VI LAMOVREVX • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 V LE PAPE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 IIII LEMPEREVR • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 III LIMPERATRISE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 II LA PAPESSE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 I LE BATELEVR • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020
ROY DE DENIER • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 IIII DESPEE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 VALET DE BASTON • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020  X DE DENIER • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 CAVALLIER DE COVPE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 III de BASTON • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 REYNE DESPEE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020 VIII DE COVPE • Tarot de Marseille Edition Mini-Millennium • Wilfried Houdouin 2020

Cliquez sur les images pour les agrandir

Vidéo réalisée par Mim Mim

Pour en savoir plus sur le Tarot de Marseille Edition Millennium, visitez le site officiel

 
facebook

• Tarot de Marseille Heritage © 2013-2021 • Marseille •
Accueil | Catalogue des jeux | Galerie des Tarots historiques | Qui sommes-nous ?
Questions fréquentes | Témoignages | Lettre d'information | Contact | Liens | Boutique

facebook twitter